Devils Can’t Hold Off Penguins

Teams 1 2 3 F Key Contributors
WB/Scranton Penguins 0 0 2 2  Kostopoulos (GWG), Mannino (19SVS), Mikkelson (G)
Albany Devils  1 0 0 1  Sislo (G), Kinkaid (12SVS)

ATLANTIC CITY, NJ — Brendan Mikkelson scored the tying goal and Tom Kostopoulos netted the game-winner, helping the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins to a 2-1, come-from-behind victory against the Albany Devils Saturday at Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall.

(VIEW: Complete gamesheet)

Albany led 1-0 with less than seven minutes remaining in regulation. Mikkelson’s point shot found a hole at 13:33 and Kostopoulos followed with a power-play tally at 16:08.

The game marks the first time Albany has lost in regulation after leading through two periods (25-1-0-4).

The Penguins, who entered the game with a plus-30 goal differential in the third period, jump the Devils in the Eastern Conference standings. Albany is 29-17-3-5 (66 pts.), while Wilkes-Barre/Scranton is 30-20-3-4 (67 pts.).

Mike Sislo scored Albany’s goal on a 5-on-3 power play at 11:21 of the first period. Kelly Zajac fed the puck to Adam Larsson at the right point. The Devils defenseman unloaded a shot that deflected off a body in front and Sislo was on the left door stop for his 18th goal of the season and fifth in four outings.

Keith Kinkaid, who entered the game on a three-game winning streak, made 12 stops including four in the first, five in the second and three in the third.

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Peter Mannino earned his second win of the season, making 19 stops.

Albany owned a 20-14 shot advantage and went 1-6 on the power play and 2-3 on the penalty kill. Kostopoulos’ power-play goal was the first against the Devils since Feb. 4 at Springfield. Albany had successfully killed off 37 penalties during their streak.

The Devils travel to face the Providence Bruins Sunday at 3:05 pm at Dunkin’ Donuts Center. Fans can follow the action on online at or over the air waves at 104.5 “The Team” ESPN Radio.


Goaltenders: Scott Wedgewood, Keith Kinkaid

Defensemen: Seth Helgeson, Raman Hrabarenka, Dan Kelly, Adam Larsson, Corbin McPherson, Alexander Urbom

Forwards: Reid Boucher, Stefan Matteau, Chris McKelvie, Rod Pelley, Harri Pesonen, Tim Sestito, Mike Sislo, Mattias Tedenby, Scott Timmins, Joe Whitney, David Wohlberg, Kelly Zajac

Related posts


Subscribe to Devils E-News