Devils Prevail In Shootout

Teams 1 2 3 S F Key Contributors
Albany Devils 1 2 0 1 4 Matteau (SOW), Boucher (G), Kinkaid (18 SVS)
Portland Pirates  1 1 1 0 3 Visentin (33SVS), Martinook (G), Rieder (G)

LEWISTON, ME — In the end, two points are two points. The Albany Devils surrendered a third period lead, but earned victory in the shootout against the Portland Pirates Friday at Androscoggin Bank Colisée. Stefan Matteau netted the winner in the fifth round, giving the Devils a 3-2 shootout win and a 4-3 victory overall.

In the penalty shot showcase, Portland led 2-1 after three rounds. Keith Kinkaid shut the door in the fourth and fifth and Joe Whitney

Stefan Matteau

and Matteau took care of the rest. Matteau’s winner — a wrist shot from above the hashmarks — seemed to surprise Portland netminder Mark Visentin.

(VIEW: Complete gamesheet)

During regulation, Scott Timmins, Reid Boucher, who also scored in the shootout, and Tim Sestito each scored. Kinkaid finished with 18 saves, including 11 in the first, four in the second, two in the third and one in overtime.

Albany, which has at least one point in five of its last six, improves to 30-18-3-6. Portland moves to 21-26-2-8.

After trailing just 26 seconds into the game, the Devils responded with three straight goals. Timmins netted his 11th of the season at 10:40 of the first period and Reid Boucher followed with his 15th at 1:38 of the second.

Sestito was credited with his 12th tally of the year after a Portland player won a defensive-zone faceoff into his own net at 3:36 of the second.

The Pirates responded thanks to Brendan Shinnimin’s shorthanded goal at 12:14 of the middle frame and Tobias Rieder’s power-play tally at 15:47 of the third.

The Devils continue their road trip with a 7 pm outing against the Hartford Wolf Pack Saturday at XL Center. The game can be streamed online or on mobile devices at Additionally, the contest can be followed on 104.5 “The Team” ESPN Radio.



Goaltenders: Keith Kinkaid, Scott Wedgewood

Defensemen: Brandon Burlon, Seth Helgeson, Adam Larsson, Corbin McPherson, Reece Scarlett, Alexander Urbom

Forwards: Reid Boucher, Stefan Matteau, Chris McKelvie, Rod Pelley, Harri Pesonen, Tim Sestito, Mike Sislo, Mattias Tedenby, Scott Timmins, Joe Whitney, David Wohlberg, Kelly Zajac

Related posts


Subscribe to Devils E-News