Shootout Win Puts Devils In Playoffs

Teams 1 2 3 S F Key Contributors
Albany Devils 0 2 0 1 3 Kinkaid (20SVS, W), Boucher (G), Kelly (G), Zajac (2A)
Portland Pirates  0 1 1 0 2 Carey (G), Lessio (G), Visentin (28SVS)

LEWISTON, ME — The Albany Devils secured their spot in the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs with a 3-2 shootout victory against the Portland Pirates Wednesday at Androscoggin Bank Colisee. The Devils are returning to the postseason for the first time since 2009-10 when the franchise was located in Lowell, MA.

Albany, which is now on a four-game winning streak, improved to 39-23-5-8. The team’s 91 points are the most in club history and its 39 wins are tied for the top spot — the 2009-10 squad accomplished the feat during an 80-game schedule.

(VIEW: Complete gamesheet)

Against the Pirates, Reid Boucher and Dan Kelly both scored. Kelly Zajac registered his 13th multiple-point game of the season with two assists. Keith Kinkaid denied 20 shots during regulation and overtime and made four stops during the shootout.

Portland opened the scoring when Greg Carey netted his first career goal just 23 seconds into the second period. Albany responded immediately after with a pair. First, Reid Boucher netted his 22nd goal of the season and third in two games on a play setup by Mattias Tedenby and Zajac at 6:03.

Next, Dan Kelly unloaded a shot form the blue line with the help of Zajac and Jon Merrill at 17:02.

Portland’s Lucas Lessio forced overtime with a power-play tally at 7:19 in the third.

After overtime, Jordan Szwarz gave the Pirates a 1-0 advantage after two rounds, but Stefan Matteau and Mike Sislo scored back-to-back goals, helping Albany to its third straight shootout victory.

Next up, the Devils conclude the regular season with a 5 pm outing against the Springfield Falcons Saturday at Times Union Center. As part of “Fan Appreciation Night,” the first 1,000 fans in attendance will receive an Albany Devils drawstring backpack. Additionally, prizes will be handed out throughout the game. The Devils will also recognize the Union College Men’s Ice Hockey team for its 2014 NCAA Championship.


Goaltenders: Keith Kinkaid, Scott Wedgewood

Defensemen: Eric Gelinas, Seth Helgeson, Dan Kelly, Adam Larsson, Jon Merrill, Corbin McPherson

Forwards: Graham Black, Reid Boucher, Stefan Matteau, Rod Pelley, Harri Pesonen, Tim Sestito, Mike Sislo, Mattias Tedenby, Scott Timmins, Joe Whitney, David Wohlberg, Darcy Zajac, Kelly Zajac

Related posts


Subscribe to Devils E-News